Eggless Banana Cake

Cake for me used to mean a vanilla cake or a chocolate cake, but when I started learning about baking (thanks to internet), I got introduced to a new world of cakes. We stay in middle-east where it is difficult to find an eggless cake and that inspired me to explore more about baking. Sometime back I found this recipe and when I tried it, response from entire family was “once more”. So now whenever I have ripe bananas in my fruit basket, first preference is to cook a banana cake. I have a growing sweet little daughter and want to cook this for her. She loves cherries, berries etc. which I try to add in the cakes. Even my husband loves this cake.

Ingredients:

2 big sized riped Banana
1.5 cup Whole Wheat Flour
1 tsp Baking powder
½ tsp Baking Soda
A pinch of Salt
½ cup regular Sugar
2/3 cup Unflavoured Oil
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
½ cup of Walnuts, cherry, dry blueberries, Raspberry etc

Method:

Preheat oven at 180 degree C / 350 degree F. Peel, chop and mash the banana in a bowl with blender or with a fork. Add sugar, oil and vanilla extract and whisk them well. Mix them so well that sugar dissolves.
In another bowl sieve whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix wet ingredients with dry ingredients. Fold them well. Lastly add chopped walnuts and other dried berries, cherry etc. Pour the batter in a greased and lined loaf pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes then insert a toothpick in the middle, if it comes out clean, your cake is ready. Else keep an eye on the cake and bake till toothpick comes out clean. This cake should stay in the baking pan to cool. Slice and serve.

Note: This recipe is adapted from http://www.vegrecipesofindia.com/

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

